A newer version of this documentation is available. Use the version menu above to view the most up-to-date release of the Greenplum 4.x documentation.
Destroys a previously defined savepoint.
RELEASE [SAVEPOINT] savepoint_name
RELEASE SAVEPOINT destroys a savepoint previously defined in the current transaction.
Destroying a savepoint makes it unavailable as a rollback point, but it has no other user visible behavior. It does not undo the effects of commands executed after the savepoint was established. (To do that, see ROLLBACK TO SAVEPOINT.) Destroying a savepoint when it is no longer needed may allow the system to reclaim some resources earlier than transaction end.
RELEASE SAVEPOINT also destroys all savepoints that were established after the named savepoint was established.
- The name of the savepoint to destroy.
To establish and later destroy a savepoint:
BEGIN; INSERT INTO table1 VALUES (3); SAVEPOINT my_savepoint; INSERT INTO table1 VALUES (4); RELEASE SAVEPOINT my_savepoint; COMMIT;
The above transaction will insert both 3 and 4.
This command conforms to the SQL standard. The standard specifies that the key word SAVEPOINT is mandatory, but Greenplum Database allows it to be omitted.